img_4777
Maddy’s Pasta Bar

Maddy’s Pasta Bar has opened up a new outlet in Viman Nagar at the previously located Largo Pizzeria after the success of their Kothrud outlet.

img_4762
The Ambiance

Madhur Jetlia, owner of Maddy’s Pasta Bar, invited The B Team for an exclusive tasting at the Viman Nagar outlet and we were more than happy to cover.

img_4763
Few of the posters at the store

Madhur’s idea of Maddy’s Pasta Bar is to serve pasta on the pocket friendly budget. The vegetarian pastas start from 60/- and the non-vegetarian pastas from 75/-. Madhur manages to survive with such rates by cutting down on a lot of things such as cutlery by using disposable plates. Offering mini portions, you can try more variety or well as have pasta on the go.

img_4771
Virgin Mojito
img_4769
Tropical Twist
img_4773
Snowberry

We started off with a few of their mocktails such as Tropical Twist, Snowberry and Virgin Mojito. The Snowberry turned out to be the best in the lot for me. It was sweet with a good punch of berries.

img_4776
Garlic Bread with Cheese

For appetisers, we had the Garlic Bread with Cheese. Topped off with oregano, chilli flakes, garlic and cheese, it did have a great aromatic smell about it and tasted good as well.

img_4779
Portugese Sauce with Penne

The Portugese sauce with Penne was a blend of the white and red sauce with tossed bell peppers. It was my favourite amongst all the sauces I had that day. It was saucy, tangy and a good Indianised version of the pasta.

img_4785
Chicken Arrabiata Sauce with Penne

The Chicken Arrabiata Sauce with Penne was made using canned tomatoes. As confirmed my Madhur, they make the sauce using canned tomatoes to ensure consistency but I personally did not like this one due to the typical sourness of the tomatoes.

img_4788
Cheesy Alfredo Sauce with Fusilli

The Cheesy Alfredo Sauce with Fusilli had a mix of Gouda and processed Britannia cheese and was topped off with some olives. I found the sauce to be a little too runny consistency wise but I was told most of the clientele preferred their sauce that way. So you could ask your server to make the sauce as per your preference. The taste of the Alfredo was bang on.

img_4795
Pesto Sauce with Penne

The Pesto Sauce with Penne was made using basil, cashew and olive oil. I wasn’t quite sure of replacing the traditional pine nuts with cashews but considering their pricing, cashews turned out to be a good substitute. It was topped with olives and was decent.

img_4796
Spaghetti Aglio Olio Pepperoncino with Chicken

The Spaghetti Aglio Olio Pepperoncini with Chicken had garlic, red chillies, olives and was tossed in extra virgin olive oil. Use of high amount of chilli flakes gave the mouth a good after burn. I like my food a bit spicy sometimes, but if you’re looking for a traditional aglio olio, I’d say beware!

img_4810
Vegetarian Lasagne

The Vegetarian Lasagne had layers of minced soya, spinach and mushroom. Its presentation wasn’t the most appealing since it was served in one of the delivery aluminium containers. However, I thought it tasted pretty amazing.

img_4824
Maddy’s Herbed Risotto

The Maddy’s Herbed Risotto was definitely the star of the night for me. It had the perfectly cooked Arborio rice and well complemented by the tomato sauce. This dish actually felt pretty refined to me and no wonder was my favourite.

Maddy’s Pasta Bar also has a variety of fusion pastas made using BBQ sauce, thai curry, indian curry.

img_4830
Barbecue Sauce with Spaghetti
img_4835
Maddy’s Magic Masala with Penne

We tried The Barbeque Sauce with Spaghetti and the Maddy’s Magic Masala with Penne from the fusion variety but I wasn’t impressed. This was a personal choice for me since I am very particular with my pastas and I prefer them made with the traditional sauces. But my some of my fellow team mates did seem to enjoy them.

img_4804
Chicken Tikka Pizza

The Chicken Tikka Pizza had marinated chicken, capsicum and onions. It was more of thick crunchy crust with a good medley of flavours.

img_4817
Classic Vegetarian Pizza

The Classic Vegetarian Pizza had corn, cheese, capsicum and onions. My favourite cheese since childhood had been Britannia Cheese and since the same cheese was used, I absolutely loved this pizza.

For desserts we had the Choco Walnut Brownie and the Chocolate Mousse.

img_4844
Choco Walnut Brownie

The Choco Walnut Brownie had an amazingly dense texture and tasted good. The chocolate sauce complimented the brownie well enough.

img_4841
Chocolate Mousse

The Chocolate Mousse was served in a round plastic container and was absolutely aerated and fluffy. It wasn’t too strong on the chocolate and I liked it. I wouldn’t mind hogging on one of these at any time of the day.

The food at Maddy’s Pasta Bar isn’t exactly gourmet and neither do they claim to be serve gourmet food. It is made to cater to the regular Indian palate. I did like their take on their food and a visit is soon due.

Disclaimer: The invite was for a complimentary food tasting event. This review is a narrative of my experience at the event. The views expressed in this review are solely mine and others are more than welcome to agree or disagree with the same. The review is in no way influenced either personally or commercially nor has it been lifted, copied or plagiarized from any source however I have done my due diligence on the event via publicly available information on the internet.

All Rights Reserved.

Maddy's Pasta Bar Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

