Makrana situated in Primerose Mall, Baner is a small establishment serving North Indian delicacies. It is in its initial stages and is mainly a home delivery / parcel setup with scope for expansion with dedicated seating. I had heard about Makrana from a few friends and was pretty excited when I was invited for a food tasting (special thanks to my friend Divyanshu). The place is owned by Mr. Deepak who told us about his culinary journey and how Makrana came about.

IMG_1299

Now, we were served a variety of starters and it was a meaty affair indeed. We started off with the Makrana Kebab. A chicken tangdi infused with flavors and spices and cooked so well that the meat came right off the bone. Hints of lemon packed a punch of flavors in my mouth but the spices from the marination were a little mildly infused. We had the Tandoori Nisha which was again a chicken tangdi packed with a lot of bold flavors. It was perfect for my palate with the sourness from the marination and the spices. Another thing I loved about it was the char on the surface adding a really great texture.

IMG_1304
Makrana Kebab
IMG_1311
Makrana Kebab
IMG_1312
Tandoori Nisha

We were next served the Murgh Lasooni Tikka. This was absolutely heavenly. The chicken was tender, succulent and creamy and so well cooked that my fork cut through the chicken with ease. I loved the outer texture of the chicken and then the creamy affair was just unparalleled.

IMG_1316
Murgh Lasooni Tikka
IMG_1318
Murgh Lasooni Tikka

Next came Mutton Galouti Kebab and Gilafi Seekh. The Galouti Kebab reminded me of Lucknow, such was the greatness of this appetizer. Served upon a small bed of roti, the kebab was meaty, crunchy and full of flavor. However the Gilafi Seekh turned out to be a little disappointing. It was a nicely coated seekh kebab with an amazing texture on the outside and looked really tempting. But upon digging in, I tasted just meat. There was a general lack of spice or seasoning.

IMG_1319
Gilafi Seekh
IMG_1314
Mutton Galouti Kebab

We were served something off the menu which was the Shami Kebab. The Shami Kebabs were the star of the evening. They were brilliantly cooked. I lifted the kebab with my hand and to my surprise it did not crack an inch. As soon as I had my first bite, the kebab literally melted in my mouth. We encouraged Mr. Deepak to put the Shami Kebab on the menu so that others could also enjoy this delicacy.

IMG_1322
Shami Kebab

For the main course, we had a Murgh Tikka Lababdar, a Methi Dum Jhinga and a bread basket. The bread basket came with butter roti, butter naan and lachha paratha. The Methi Dum Jhinga had an amazing smooth and creamy gravy but it lacked the crustacean flavor from the prawns. The Murgh Tikka Lababdar was really nice and suited my palate. It was again packed with bold and spicy flavors but not too spicy to burn your mouth. The chicken tikka used here gave its individual flavor along with the added flavor from the gravy. I had the butter naan from the bread basket and what I thought that it was a little too thin. It was nicely smothered with butter but I like the butter naan nice and thick.

IMG_1324
Murgh Tikka Lababdar
IMG_1327
Methi Dum Jhinga
IMG_1328
Bread Basket

For dessert we were served a jumbo gulab jamun. It was similar to what my mother makes at home and reminded me of her. I loved the sheer size of the gulab jamun and the melt in your mouth feel as well.

IMG_1330
Gulab Jamun

It was a great experience at Makrana alongside host and owner Mr. Deepak! Special thanks to Divyanshu for inviting me. I look forward to more visits to Makrana and I wish Makrana all the very best in their future endeavors and may they feed hungry bellies with North Indian delicacies!

Cheers!!

Makrana Menu, Reviews, Photos, Location and Info - Zomato

